Chop chop chippitey chop…

It’s finally that cold time of year where a different soup each night always hits the spot! I’ve found myself craving pure vegetables and herbs lately amongst all the cream, cheeses, and added sugars and fats to our “holiday” diet. So, most of the soups have managed to be vegan (sort of by accident) because the favors seem to marry so well in soup form. This is a soup I made a while ago but can’t stop thinking about… I will load some others including some refreshing salads soon..

IMG_0933.JPGIMG_0935.JPG

IMG_0940.JPG

Creamy Root Soup

This is all just based off taste so I did this recipe as I went so everything here can be adjusted to your liking

1 onion
4-6 garlic cloves
1 butternut squash
2-4 organic yellow potatoes (preferably still with skin since it is good for you)
1-2 organic sweet potato
2-4 cups of vegetable broth
1 Tbs red curry paste (optional)
2-4 Tbs butter and/or olive oil
A handful of chives
Salt and pepper

I sautéed onions and garlic in olive oil and a bit of butter (you could definitely leave out butter though) in a heavy pan first until translucent and lightly browned then added some s & p. Next add the broth, best to start small, just enough to cover and cook roots your adding and then you can add more later to make it the consistency you like. This is when I chopped all my roots into similar sized chunks and added squash first and potatoes a bit after. Once they’re all softened, cooking on a nice low simmer, add some of your chopped chives. Now you can prepare to purée, I find hand blenders super helpful and way less messy in this case (especially since I have to turn on my generator just to do this step haha). Now is when I start adjusting seasoning adding the curry paste if you want it, s & p, remaining chopped chives, and anything else! This recipe is great for later in the week too because you can thin it out for more soup or keep it thick and have it over rice or other grains with some greens and even a dab of fresh plain yogurt mmmmm… Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

